Whole Wheat Dinner Muffins

I love cookbooks. I have since long before I started cooking.  I am just as likely to sit down and read a cookbook cover to cover as a novel.  That said, I especially love cookbooks with lots of beautiful photographs.  My collection of Williams-Sonoma cookbooks has been growing for exactly that reason.

The first one I acquired was Muffins, written by Beth Hensperger. I can’t say enough good things about this cookbook; beautiful full-page color photographs for each recipe, helpful hints, and the best part–delicious recipes.  I’ve made about 3/4 of the recipes in this book, and we’ve enjoyed every single one.  By now I’ve made almost all of the fruit recipes, but the savory muffins section is virtually untouched.  So tonight I thought I would tackle the Whole Wheat Dinner Muffins to accompany our dinner since I had all of the ingredients on hand.

The result: these muffins were delightfully fluffy, and really captured the nice nuttiness of the whole wheat flour.  They were sweeter than I expected, but still worked really well as a side to our dinner.  They were a little more complicated to make than I would usually want to do before dinner–the eggs had to be separated, and the whites beaten separately before adding–but I’m sure that’s what helped them come out so fluffy (along with the buttermilk).  I’m not a big roll fan, so I can definitely see myself making these again.

Sesame seeds were the perfect touch

Want to make this recipe too? The recipe is available online here on Williams-Sonoma’s website

About colleencuisine

Newlywed in a new city, filling up my time with baking and cooking.
This entry was posted in baking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Whole Wheat Dinner Muffins

  1. Meggie says:

    Are those Julia Child’s hands up there?? How appropriate!

Leave a Reply

