Apple Muffins

I love baking with apples this time of the year.  I’ve been trying a few new apple recipes this fall; so far I’ve made country applesauce muffins and apple cardamom cake.  And each time whatever I made was good, but not as good as my mom’s apple muffins.  I think Kevin’s gotten a bit sick of me saying that every week–so today he said, “Why don’t you just make your mom’s apple muffins already?” Probably not a bad idea, since they are such a simple and delicious recipe.


1 cup sugar
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 egg
1 1/2 cup flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking  powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups cored, peeled, and chopped apples (about 2 medium–I used Granny Smiths)

For the topping:
1 1/2 tbsp granulated sugar
1/4 tsp cinnamon
powdered sugar for decoration

Cream together sugar and butter.  Beat in egg.  Sift together dry ingredients.  Add to egg mixture.  Stir in vanilla and apples.  Fill 12 muffin cups to rim.  Sprinkle with topping.  Bake on next-to-lowest rack in preheated 375 degree oven.  Bake 20-25 minutes.  While still warm, sprinkle with powdered sugar.  

I really need to work on my food picture taking (or buy a new camera)

This was my first time making my mom’s apple muffins, and I was convinced I had done something wrong, and missed an ingredient. The dough more closely resembled pie dough than muffin dough, so I thought that maybe there was supposed to be additional milk or oil that I had missed.  I was so certain that I had messed up that I called my mom to have her repeat the recipe, even though she was in the middle of a blizzard.  As you can tell from the picture, though, they came out perfectly.  Even Kevin agreed–these really were better than any of the other apple desserts I’ve made this year.

About colleencuisine

Newlywed in a new city, filling up my time with baking and cooking.
This entry was posted in baking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Apple Muffins

  1. Pingback: Muffins, muffins, muffins | Colleen's Cuisine

Leave a Reply

