Pumpkin Chip Cookies

The other day I was helping Marti come up with an idea for a pumpkin recipe when she had to bring a dessert to a gathering.  I haven’t heard how her pumpkin chocolate chip bars came out, but they inspired me to make something pumpkiny and chocolatey for us to eat.

This recipe came from Taste of Home’s Cookies: 620 Irresistible Delights.  This cookbook is HUGE, with photographs illustrating every recipe.  The great thing about this cookbook is that no matter what ingredient I come up with, it has a cookie recipe that uses it.  So of course it was no surprise that they had a pumpkin and chocolate chip cookie recipe.  Not only that, but the recipe for “Pumpkin Chip Cookies” also had oatmeal, which is Kevin’s second favorite cookie ingredient (after chocolate chips).

I still had half a can worth of pumpkin that I froze after I made the Cheesecake-Filled Pumpkin Cupcakes a few weeks ago, so I decided to halve this recipe (the original recipe calls for a full can).  This posed a little challenge, since I had to cut one egg in half–but I just scrambled it up and poured out about half of it.  I’m glad that I halved the recipe, because we ended up with about 3 dozen cookies, which is more than enough for the two of us.

These cookies came out delicious–moist, oatmeally, and chocolatey.  The only complaint we had was that the pumpkin flavor got a little lost behind those other ingredients.  I would make these again if I had some pumpkin puree that I needed to use up, but I don’t think that they would satisfy a pumpkin craving.

About colleencuisine

Newlywed in a new city, filling up my time with baking and cooking.
This entry was posted in baking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pumpkin Chip Cookies

  1. Kelly says:

    i don’t think I have ever heard of pumpkinchip cookies… too bad you didn’t think the pumpkin was strong enough, because the idea of pumpki+ chocolate+oatmeal sounds FANTASTIC.

Leave a Reply

