Vanilla Cheesecake

What happens when your kitchen finally gets one of these and one of these ?

You make one of these:

Maybe not the prettiest cheesecake ever, but not bad for a first effort

For my first cheesecake I used the recipe for a Vanilla Cheesecake from Williams-Sonoma Dessert.  We went back and forth about whether to make vanilla or chocolate, but the price for the chocolate we needed was a bit much, so vanilla won.

I made a raspberry sauce for serving by pureeing together some fresh raspberries, Chambord, sugar, and a bit of lemon juice.  I added some whole raspberries to the puree before serving.  I tried to pour the puree through a sieve to remove the seeds, but apparently the sieve I have was too fine, and none of the puree would go through at all.  So the raspberry sauce is a bit seedy, but it was good enough for just Kevin and myself to eat.

As you can see in the picture, I over-baked the crust a bit before adding the filling, so it had a bit of a toasty flavor.  The top also cracked, but I didn’t really try any tricks to prevent that (most people on the internet think baking the cheesecake in a water bath can help prevent cracking, but since it was just for us I didn’t really care what it came out looking like).  Toasty crust, cheesecake cracks, and seedy sauce aside, this was really delicious!

About colleencuisine

Newlywed in a new city, filling up my time with baking and cooking.
This entry was posted in baking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

