Devil’s Food Cake with Fudge Frosting

In my opinion, things made from scratch taste better than store-bought 99% of the time. A homemade loaf of bread beats one made from a box, homemade cookies beat ones made from a mix, and so on.  Sometimes I look at the different boxes in the baking aisle at the grocery store and I wonder who would buy some of these things.

Well, this weekend I learned that homemade is not always better.  Sometimes homemade is a lot more expensive, a ton more work, and not really any better tasting than store-bought.  The next time Kevin asks for chocolate cake, he is getting one from my erstwhile friends Duncan Hines and Betty Crocker, rather than Williams-Sonoma.

I spent most of my day off on Monday making this Devil’s Food Cake and the fudge frosting.  It was a little dry, and the frosting was made with bittersweet chocolate so it wasn’t sweet enough for my taste.  I think when it comes to cakes, I am back on the packaged mix bandwagon.  For now, at least.

This recipe is from Williams-Sonoma’s Dessert cookbook.

About colleencuisine

Newlywed in a new city, filling up my time with baking and cooking.
This entry was posted in baking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

