Guinness Beef Stew

The weather here in Dayton has taken a definite turn towards cool brisk days, with overnight lows dropping into the thirties. Weather like that makes me crave comfort foods, and with the big Irish win yesterday this Guinness Beef Stew seemed fitting.

image

I used this recipe from the blog Blissfully Delicious, found via Pinterest. I had a moment of panic this morning as I loaded the Crockpot–the ingredients barely fit, even though I was using the same size as the author. The whole time we were at church, I was freaking out with worry that it had overflowed and flooded the kitchen counter with stew. But it didn’t overflow, and was quite delicious. I always follow recipes to the t the first time I make them, but the next time I make this (and there will be a next time!) I will chop the vegetables into smaller pieces (making them more spoon sized, versus fork sized) and add less broth. I’d also probably halve the recipe so that I don’t have to worry about a kitchen disaster again 🙂

About colleencuisine

Newlywed in a new city, filling up my time with baking and cooking.
This entry was posted in cooking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

